Sweet Potato Fries

Yay! Sweet potatoes!

Super healthy, super filling. You can’t go wrong. Let’s get started before I begin rambling.

Ok so, I began with 4 HUGE organic sweet potatoes. Yeah… that was way too much. I figured that my man-friend and I would easily eat two potatoes each as our main meal, and boy; was I wrong. 

Learn from my mistakes, please.

Ok, so you’re going to want to slice your potatoes into matchstick sizes. The thing about thick sweet potato fries is: they can tend to be pretty soggy. The thinner, the better in terms of crispness. However, don’t go into it thinking that they will have the same consistency of a regular potato fry; they won’t. They are delicious though.

Ok, so once you have your potatoes in fry-like shapes, toss them into a bowl with a few tablespoons of olive oil, or just enough to coat each piece. 

Ok; now here is where your own personal tastes come in. I really like savory spices with sweet potatoes, however I know cinnamon/sugar are popular flavors too. I decided to go with a ton of cajun seasoning this time, with a dash of onion powder (and I probably would have used garlic powder had I remembered). Whatever you choose, use a heavy hand. Especially with the salt. Just think about what flavors *you* like. Oregano? Steak spice? Jerk seasoning? Be creative!

Ok, now; place them on a baking tray without touching one another. This will help them get crispy. Because of my paranoia about things sticking, I lightly oiled the baking tray with olive oil. It was probably unnecessary, but hey: it helps ease my insanity. I baked them off at about 425 for 12-14 minutes on the first side, and then juustttt until they started looking browned on the other side (another 5-7 minutes or so). However, this is very dependent on your oven, so please check on them (or do a mini batch for test purposes!)

Ok: now for a dip! So to keep this relatively healthy I opted to use a yogurt base for my dip. That said, there is nothing wrong with using sour cream, mayo, or some combination thereof. Use what you have on hand or what your own tastes dictate. Here’s my yogurt, hanging out:

Now I added in the zest and juice of one lime

Now I added in one clove of garlic. To avoid having large hunks of raw garlic in there, I first diced it finely, then I sprinkled some salt on it and smeared it against the side of my knife to create a sort of paste. 

By the way, I have never missed my own knife so much. I made this meal away from home, with a friend. From now on I’m just going to carry around my own knife in my purse.

God look at it. Look at the knife, mocking me.

Ok, jalapeno time! Cut him in half, and then scoop out the seeds. (You can totally leave them in if you’re down with extreme spice)

Now dice him up!

Now, you’re going to need to add a bit of salt here. How much is entirely up to your taste. I recommend sticking a fork into it, tasting it, and then adding accordingly. (Bear in mind always, when it’s a dip it needs to taste a little stronger than you would like it if you were, say, eating it with a spoon. Because you’re using potatoes as a vehicle it has to be strongly flavored)

This was about the time that I screamed profanities at that (@*#*&%$)@#*$ knife and made my man-friend take over on the second round of fry cutting. And then I laughed when I compared the size of his hands with mine. Look. 

Like sausages, no?

All done!

🙂

Sweet Potato Fries

  • sweet potatoes (I used organic; buy as many as you need)
  • olive oil
  • cajun seasoning
  • onion powder
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Slice your potatoes into matchstick style fries
  2. Coat them with olive oil;  the amount will depend on the number of fries. Start off with about two tablespoons, and if they appear dry add in another.
  3. Add in your seasoning. Again, this depends on the number of fries. I added in enough cajun seasoning that each fry had a liberal amount on it, and about 1.5-2 teaspoons of onion powder. Then I added in salt and pepper to my taste, which happens to be a lot. For me, this was around 2 teaspoons of each, but please follow your own palate
  4. Arrange them on a baking sheet without touching one another
  5. Bake at 425 and check them at 11-12 minutes to see how brown they are on one side. If they look nice and browned, flip them all and toss them back in. If not, just let them hang out but check frequently (they burn quickly!!) Once flipped, check after 5 minutes for doneness. Again, if they aren’t done just keep checking at 2 minute intervals. 

Turn out onto a serving plate, and eat up immediately! They are definitely better when hot.

Jalapeno Lime Dipping Sauce

  • Greek style yogurt, mine was 6% M.F. Use as much as you’ll need, according to the number of mouths to feed!
  • one lime
  • one jalapeno
  • one clove garlic
  • salt
  1. Put your yogurt (or if you want; mayo/sour cream) into a pretty serving bowl
  2. Zest your lime and add it in, then squeeze the juice into the yogurt
  3. Cut your jalapeno in half, then seed it and dice it. Add it in.
  4. Dice your garlic clove, then sprinkle on a pinch of salt. Smear the garlic with the side of your knife against your cutting board until it resembles a paste. Add it in.
  5. Now, taste your dip. Does it need salt? It probably will so add in a pinch at a time until it reaches your desired saltiness 
6 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Main Meals, Sides

6 responses to “Sweet Potato Fries

  1. I tried to fry sweet potatoe fries once, and they were soggy. I guess you have to coat them in flour or something so they stay crisp. Yours look delish!

  2. you know, I had a suggestion recently to coat them in egg white and I’m tempted to try that next 🙂 But yes they are completely finicky creatures. And thank you ma’am!

  3. Yiannab

    I’m making these tonight! By the way, I love my microplane grater for grating garlic. Never have to use a knife:)

  4. I’m so happy to hear they were yummy! I hear you on overcrowding the pan; I got impatient halfway through and did the same thing 😉

Leave a Reply

