Pre-gaming. Appetizer: sauteed mushrooms with thyme, white wine, and balsamic.

Another typical Friday night prior to drinks: and somebody informs me he can’t possibly survive the next two hours without an appetizer ūüėČ

Luckily, I’m the best hostess ever.

But seriously; I need to stop hanging out with people literally twice the size of me. A different species, I’m telling you.

Begin with a variety of mushrooms of your choice! I had some ‘bellos here, and regular old white mushrooms.

2DP_4688

I popped them into a saute pan with a bit of butter and olive oil. The combination of both prevents the butter from burning, but gives that unmistakable delicious taste you can’t achieve without it ūüėČ

2DP_4701

2DP_4716

When the mushrooms are looking nice and brown, I season to taste with sea salt and fresh ground black pepper.

2DP_4720

I added in a sprig of fresh thyme here; see how I’m stripping it in a downwards motion? That way you leave behind the chewy stalk, but release all the flavorful ‘leaves.’ (are they called leaves? Someone correct me please?)

At this point, I added in a splash of white wine to deglaze all that yumminess from the bottom of the pan. I tasted, adjusted the seasoning (food almost always needs a touch more salt than anticipated). And then, a splash of balsamic vinegar. Go easy with the vinegar; you want that unmistakable bite that it gives, but too much and it becomes very sour.

Plate it up!

2DP_4723

Now, this requires a little bit of creaminess to offset the acidity. I happen to adore camembert, and had it on hand, so that’s what I went with. However, chevre would be a *fantastic* choice too.¬†

2DP_47252DP_4726

Mmmm. It was deemed good by my rhino man-friend, and that’s good enough for me ūüėČ

And now for the pre-gaming part.

God. I always feel like beer looks deceivingly refreshing. Yum. 

2DP_4778

Sauteed Mushrooms with Wine and Balsamic Vinegar

  • assortment of mushrooms. I used three¬†portobello¬†mushrooms, and a package of white mushrooms¬†
  • sprig or two of thyme
  • olive oil
  • butter
  • balsamic vinegar
  • white wine (whatever you have on hand – I used pinot grigio)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. slice your mushrooms
  2. heat a couple tablespoons of olive oil and a tablespoon of butter in a skillet
  3. saute your mushrooms until they achieve a beautiful golden brown color
  4. add salt and pepper to taste. Add in a sprig of thyme
  5. add a splash of white wine to deglaze plan and scrape up the brown bits to incorporate  them into the sauce. Give it 30 seconds or so for the alcohol to evaporate, and then add in a splash of balsamic. Take it off the heat. TASTE! ADJUST!
  6. serve with a baguette and your cheese of choice. I personally love camembert but chevre would be incredible. 

Look how HAPPY my wine glass is that I’m drinking him. Look. Who needs wine charms when you have red lipstick?

2DP_4756

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers

Leave a Reply

