Mangoes and Philosophizing

I read a true story, once, although now the origin escapes me, about a woman in her 60s who managed to lift the back end of a car off of her grandson’s arm. Or leg. Or something. You hear stories like this all the time; adrenaline and fear make you capable of seemingly impossible things. Anyway. Later the woman was interviewed about this miraculous feat of strength and she avoided talking about it altogether. Eventually when she addressed the issue, she said she felt uncomfortable acknowledging it happened because it meant that all of the other things in her life that she thought were impossible, were feasible.

 This came to mind as I was walking on the beach this afternoon. I realized that I decided about a month before I moved to Belize that I was going to pick up and leave.  A month before that, I had to google map the location (embarrassingly) because I wasn’t even sure where it was, exactly. What does this mean? If I can decide I’m going to move to a different country in a month, and pull it off within a week (seriously: it shouldn’t have been a week but procrastination struck again) what else can I do? What could I be accomplishing next month if I decide today that I want to do it? Frightening, right?

 This level of mental exertion calls for a beer and my new favourite snack down here; mangoes on a stick.

Here is the mango. NOM. They cut it so interestingly that I don’t question how it’s actually done and prefer to purchase it daily for about $1 US.

The first couple of times I bought this I ate it like any other Canadian  chick would. Right off of the stick with no accompaniments. Then I noted that locals were apparently purchasing some illicit looking substance to sprinkle over the mango-on-a-stick. Not one to pass up the opportunity to try it, I politely inquired as to what, exactly, it was, and the spanish local behind the counter responded as if I was perhaps the biggest idiot she had had the misfortune of talking to on that particular day. “Salt and pepper.”

Salt and pepper? On Mangoes? You also get it in this little drug baggie. Check it out.

So I sprinkled some on, and honestly – it’s delicious. The salt brings out the natural sweetness of the mango, and the pepper leaves a fire-y feeling on your lips after you’ve finished eating. Yum. 

This, a beer, and a beautiful pier with a stunning view of the ocean? Perfect day.

21 Comments

Filed under Just Me

21 responses to “Mangoes and Philosophizing

  1. Vicki

    Very interesting theory that grandmother had! Although I don’t think it took into account the adrenalin rush, lol. I do agree you needed that mango and beer. Yum.

    • Lol yes I agree adrenaline probably had a lot to do with it :) That said, if I recall the article correctly she ended up going ahead and completing her dream of being a professor of geology (or something similar). Go grandma!

  2. That is absolutely amazing, you managing all that in a week! Also, that mango is so beautiful. I love the druggie bag! Never would have thought to salt and pepper mango either, will have to try once the good ones are for sale.

    ~Kurious Kitteh

    • Well, I can’t take *all* the credit :P I have amazing friends willing to pick up my slack sometimes haha. It is so delicious lady, give it a shot! Your site is looking great, by the way.

  3. Hugh Morton

    now look for some chamoy sauce.
    An apricot hot sauce. good on many tropical fruit.

  4. aprilantipodal

    I spent a month in Belize a few years ago on a field school, but only a few days at the end on San Pedro. I loved the mangoes, and the sun… and the pink tonic water!
    I got here via Tastespotting :)

    (Oh, and in Mexico I think I saw people putting chili powder on the mango-on-a-stick… didn’t try that though.)

    • What did you think of Belize in general? I love San Pedro – it’s utterly gorgeous, but a few other areas of the country I’ve ventured into are a bit rougher. I’d love to hear your experiences! Chili powder is reallllly interesting as an addition. I’ll have to give it a shot :P

  5. Yum! Can I just say that post made me very jealous. I am craving some sand between the toes.
    They do something similar to the mango on a stick in India as well. They season it first with fresh lime and then a little spice concoction.
    I saw a cool quote today that said something to the effect of “once the human mind becomes passionate about something, impossibilities disappear. Guess that is like you and Grama :)

    • Hey Heather :) That’s an awesome quote – and fresh lime + mangoes sounds like heaven right now! I love buying the fresh papayas here and giving them a good spritz of fresh lime + some zest and a teeeensy pinch of salt. Delish!

  6. Wow, I enjoyed reading your post so much. And I can’t wait to find out how you got to Belize and why. Actually right now I’m considering packing my bag and joining you :)

  7. what a great post..I have tried that but in mexico..it’s a mix of salt and chiles..oh yum…great pics

    sweetlife

  8. Beautiful pics. I love the mango.

    Nisrine

  9. saidsally

    we picked up and moved from the east coast to southern california in five days. i feel you on the supposed impossibility of it all! it’s as if it wasn’t real until we were actually in the car, heading west, and looking back i don’t know where we found the guts to do it.
    of course, instead of mangoes as the local delicacy, we get to chow on fish tacos. cheers!

    • I completely understand what you mean by it feeling surreal. I didn’t really realize it until sitting in the airport/on the plane. Are you happy you did it? :) And I *love* fish tacos!

      • saidsally

        couldn’t be happier with the decision. we LOVE where our lives have gone and are so glad we made the leap. sometimes you just need to shake things up! when we thought about *not* making the move, we kept going, what happens when we’re 50 and look back and say, “why didn’t we do something exciting like move to southern california?!”

        you know your mango would be a great follow-up to a fish taco… ;)

  10. Pingback: Tweets that mention Mangoes and Philosophizing « Savory Seduction -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

